Clark Insurance’s Deborah Wentworth Receives Maine CPCU Society Allen Award of Excellence

Clark Insurance’s Deborah Wentworth Receives Maine CPCU Society Allen Award of Excellence

(PORTLAND, ME) – The Maine Chapter of the Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters (CPCU) Society recently recognized Deborah Wentworth, CPCU, Senior Vice President at Clark Insurance as winner of the 2022 Lee G. Allen President’s award of excellence.

Headshot of Deborah WentworthA resident of Falmouth, ME and Senior Vice President at Clark, Deb’s leadership includes oversight of the claims, employee benefits, and business service department as well as running the daily operations of the agency. She has over 30 years of experience, having worked for a number of carriers, including both MEMIC and Hanover Insurance, before joining Clark in 2011.

Deb received her Bachelors in Business Administration through Husson University and her MBA with the University of Phoenix. She currently holds her Charter Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU), Accredited Advisor of Insurance (AAI), and Management Liability Insurance Specialist (MLIS) designations.

In 2011, Deb received the insurance professional of the year award and currently serves on the boards of the Maine CPCU Society and Maine Applied User Group. Deb also serves on the committee for Maine Million Women, participates in the Olympia Snowe Women’s Leadership Program, and has formally served on the boards for Husson Alumni, and the Insurance Professionals of Greater Portland.

“It is an honor to join past recipients of this award, a group that includes many influential and inspiring leaders of our profession,” Wentworth said. “It means so much to me to know that the work I am so passionate about resonates with others. I am grateful to be recognized by my peers and by the Maine CPCU Society.”

The Lee Allen Award is presented annually to a member of the Maine chapter of the Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters Society for outstanding contributions to the property and casualty industry in Maine. Past Award winners from Clark Insurance include Jeff Lind (2019), David Nadeau (2011) and Gail Lind (1999).

About Lee Allen Award: In 1961, Lee became the first woman in Maine to receive a Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) Designation. Mrs. Allen was the co-owner and Treasurer with William Soule of Soule Allen Insurance in South Portland. In 1995, CPCU Chapter President Howard Candage created the Maine Chapter Eagle of Excellence Award to acknowledge a chapter member for outstanding contributions to the insurance industry in Maine. In 2001, the award was renamed the Lee Allen President’s Award of Excellence, recognizing Lee as a trailblazer and role model for women in business. It continues to be given to recognize chapter members for their industry contributions.

About CPCU: The Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter Society is an organization of insurance professionals who have earned the CPCU professional designation by passing eight national exams on topics including insurance law, accounting, risk management, and ethics. Members of the CPCU society must maintain and regularly update their insurance expertise by participating in technical and professional development workshops and seminars. The Maine Chapter of the CPCU Society was founded in 1962.

About Clark Insurance: Founded in 1931, Clark Insurance is a 100% Employee Owned independent insurance agency. With over 130 employees in six offices across Maine, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts, Clark operates as one of the largest independent agencies in New England. Services include Business Insurance, Personal Insurance, Employee Benefits, Bonds, Life, Health, Annuities, and Safety & Risk Consulting Services.

Jenna Jeffrey
Business Development Director
Clark Insurance
(207) 956-2009

Request a Free Insurance Quote